I accidentally got a smart phone

Truly, it was an accident.  I didn’t even want one, but now I am in love.  Change-my-life, set-my-heart-upon-my-riches, what-have-I-been-thinking-all-this-time–LOVE.  love. love. love.  Ok, I’ll stop.  But really.

I’m still on my parents phone plan (yup, 24 years old, holla) and they just switched to T-mobile.  The change meant phone switches/upgrades all around, which for I think most of my family members meant iphones.  Ryan and Maddy (brother, sister, respectively, both in college) were both excited out of their minds for their new phones.  Drooling, x-mas day grins, hugging inanimate objects, the whole deal.  Am I’m like, what?  Why do I need a new phone?   I’d already been forced to upgrade from the best ever greatest phone of all time:

nokia_6030_tmtogo_z1

that I loved dearly and had from age 15 until 2011.

And now I was doing quite alright thank you very much with my samsung intensity II.

samsung

Texting. calling.  bonus for having a camera.

I didn’t want or need a smart phone.  I couldn’t even tell you why.  Probably there was some anxiety involved.  Fear, too.  Technology hates me and in my brain, new technological device generally equals a whole lot of headache and frustration and shouting of “WHY won’t it just do _____??!?@$#*/?  I think there’s also some pride involved–like some “i’m too wholesome and oldschool to waste my time and money on needing the latest gadget” gibberish.  Gibberish I tell you!

I used my dad’s old android for a week and a half because I didn’t want to spend any money on a new phone.  After much pulling my hair out waiting for the stupid thing to respond to any of my requests, I decided it wasn’t going to work out.  I walked into a t-mobile store and walked out with the greatest thing that’s ever happened to me:

lg

She likes me!  She understands me!  She’s fast and responsive and it doesn’t take me any time at all to figure out how to get her to do what I want her to do!  In other words–I finally have my hands on technology that is user friendly enough for my technology hating self. It’s so easy I’m giddy about it.  I can speak my texts instead of taking 10 minutes to type them while camryn is sabotaging me.   I can check my shops stats, email and facebook all in about 2 seconds.  I can read blogs at the park while Camryn goes down the slide 800 times.  I have aps!  aps are amazing!  OH and it makes a CHA-CHING sound when I get a sale in my etsy shop.  I didn’t even have to program it to do that!! I just–guys I love it.  I feel like I’ve come out of the darkness and into the light.  Where once life was hard, life is easy.

I could go on and on, but  I’ll spare you more melodrama and stop before I hit my exclamation point limit.  Excuse me while I go and get myself full-blown addicted to instagram. bye!

6 thoughts on “I accidentally got a smart phone

  1. Kristen says:

    How funny. We too just switched to T-Mobile which meant getting rid of our dinosaur brick phones and entering the world of smart phones. I’ve been so against this for so long, and now I’m like, where have you been all my life??? I seriously feel like I just came out of a cave haha.

  2. Alison Alleman says:

    So, I’ve never heard anyone rave about a smart phone like you just did. Now you’ve got me feeling a teeny tiny bit like I might want one. Honestly I had zero desire before. I’m like you – who needs that kind of stuff? Not me. But we won’t be changing out plan anytime soon…so I’m going to try to be happy with my little $30 flip phone and I not think about the cool things I’m missing 🙂 Merry Christmas to you 🙂

Leave a comment