Oh HAPPY day

Dear Husband,

YOU GOT INTO MEDICAL SCHOOL!!!!  YOU GOT IN YOUGOTIN YOUGOTIN!!!!

You should’ve been here when I found out.  It was quite exciting.  I had been just about to text you and tell you that your fish were going to the pound because you left the fish food within Camryn’s reach again and the stinky gross expensive stuff was all over the carpet for the last time.  But then I saw you’d texted me already asking (again) was there any mail today?

So I checked and there was!  there was mail!  Among the ads and junk catalogs, a very official looking skinny envelope with KCUMB’s logo on it, with a letter inside signed by a guy whose title is longer than the pledge of allegiance.  You were at work but I opened it anyway.  You told me I could and I couldn’t wait, and what it said was

Dear Mr. Staples:

CONGRATULATIONS!!  Something something something. . . . white coat ceremony August 7. . . more stuff, other stuff. . .   Congratulations again on your acceptance!

That was the gist of it.  I wish I didn’t have to tell you over the phone, but that’s just the way it worked out.  I did tell Camryn but she just stared at me blankly and clearly did not grasp the gravity of the situation. I am so proud of you!  SO SO proud of you.  Words cannot express how proud (and hey, I’m pretty good with words). Didn’t I tell you I was positive you were in? You’re a genius and they loved you.  And I love you.  And you, my darling, are going to be a doctor someday.

Now hurry and get home so we can pop open that fancy pink lemonade and celebrate properly.

Love, me, your wife, Dana

IMG_4729

yup, poor college student style

8 thoughts on “Oh HAPPY day

  1. Congratulations to him and your little family! I remember when my boyfriend (now husband) found out he was accepted after we’d gone on a hike. Can’t wait to read more as you all (yes, it’s a family affair) go through medical school.

    P.S. My husband was in Utah last week for a residency interview and LOVED the Utah campus, “It’s right up against the mountains!”

    • thanks for following! I could write for days and days about how awesome Utah’s mountains are and how amazing it is to live right up against them–they are literally in my back yard and it’s heaven.

  2. AHHH! Dana, I didn’t know about this! I’m freaking out. I’m so happy for you guys! (And secretly a little jealous haha). That’s amazing news; it’s a stressful and expensive process.

Leave a Reply

