Bear Lake + back to reality

For part of our trip home, we spent a week at Bear Lake with the Staples. We stayed in Paris, Idaho at Tanner’s sister’s husband’s parent’s cabin (got that? ) It was pretty much picture perfect summer getaway bliss. My sister and brother in law spent just about every other weekend here with their boat and I am jeeeeeealous. I’m still having major cabin envy over here (not to mention actual-participation-in-these-things-called-weekends envy, but that’s for another day). Just look at this adorable place.

IMG_2811 Though if I’m going to be totally honest, I was head over heads smitten with the one across the street. . .IMG_2849

How cute is that?!?! Once we dig ourselves out from under mountains of med school loans,(we just hit 6 figures! no turning back!) a vacation home is definitely something we’ve got our hearts set on.

IMG_2820

This cracked me up–Camryn is apparently already too cool to smile for a photo with her dad!

We hiked,IMG_2829 IMG_2834

four-wheeled,

IMG_2840

and ate fruit loops with cousins. These girls. Oh man. They fought like crazy the whole time but were joined at the hips. Camryn may not be able to grow hair past her shoulders but she’s about a head taller than them!IMG_3097IMG_3099 IMG_3100 IMG_3124   IMG_2852 IMG_2854

siblings reunitedIMG_3127

The lake was gorgeous and amazing and isn’t Idaho just so underrated?IMG_3128

the kiddos “hot tub”IMG_3130 IMG_3131 IMG_1520 IMG_1526 IMG_1528 wakeboardingIMG_1530 IMG_1535

a couple “staples family photoshoot” outtakesIMG_1537 IMG_1550 IMG_1578 IMG_2867

We hiked up to this beautiful Bloomington Lake, where Dana and Maren (go Maren!) + the men jumped off a rope swing into the freezing cold water because I haven’t grown up from my 12 year old self who can’t not jump off the cliff, down the mountain, into the river, etc. if all the boys are doing it. IMG_2862IMG_2871

IMG_3133

Anne just got back from Tokyo and is throwing down peace signs like she’s our aisian foreign exchange student. But I mean, doesn’t she actually look like she could be?IMG_2887

Thank you, Staples for the wonderful vacation! The older we get, the more trips we plan ourselves, and the more children we schlep along with us, we realize how much time, energy, money, and planning that goes into these things, so thank you thank you thank you!

As I write this I am exercising all of my will power not to scratch the crap out of my arms which are covered in what I think is poison ivy but could potentially be leprosy. While I am practically drowning myself in calamine lotion and hydrocortisone cream, Tanner is pulling his 4th 17 hour on campus day in a row. So I think it’s safe to say that we are having significantly less fun after our return from vacation.

On the bright side, I hit a curb this week, blew a tire, and had to replace all 4 which cost me enough to almost make me cry. Oh wait no, that was also crappy.

But for reals on the bright side, I got to sneak away for shakes last night with some great friends. If second year is going to be a whole lot harder than first year, at least I already have friends this time around! Also, I grilled pizza tonight for the first time and I feel like I’ve just opened a new chapter in our lives where I am on a quest/journey to perfect this art and we just eat a whole dang lot of grilled pizza. I definitely get like a D for presentation and photography, but it was delicious and thats all that matters.

IMG_3421

That pitiful little huddle of cherry tomatoes represents the entirety of my crop so far. 5. And I lost half of one through the grill grate, so really 4 1/2. WTF Missouri, why aren’t I getting tomatoes? But the real question is, why don’t I have even one single zucchini?? I didn’t even know it was even possible to fail at growing zucchini. At least my basil is flourishing.

IMG_3422IMG_3423

I have no good ending so. . . The End.

2 thoughts on “Bear Lake + back to reality

  1. Alison Alleman says:

    That was a fun post to read 🙂 Looks like you had a great time! We had a similar family photo shoot in Breckenridge that I was in charge of (yikes!) and we wore the same colors 😉 The grilled pizza looks amazing. And, unrelated to this post, I am totally jealous of your weather and totally HATE Texas right now.

    • Christie says:

      I miss the mountains. Thank you for visiting them for me.

      I really do hope 2nd year will be easier for you. It will probably be Harder on Tanner though. You had so much on your plate last year! So chin up. And third year will be like heaven. I have no comment regarding the hell that awaits after that.

      Glad you HAGS

Leave a Reply

