Mr. Drew

Oh heavens, this little baby is the sweetest most perfect thing in my life right now. I remember a few years ago, probably when Camryn was a baby, asking my older sister, mother of 4 (now 5), do they get easier or harder as they get older? She emphatically and immediately said “EASIER! They get so so so much easier, like every single day is easier than the one before. Nothing is harder than the newborn stage.” Well, you know what, Jessica was wrong! I know I’ve said it before, but I love love love love love babies. (Not to mention I also have loved pregnancy and labor and Jess totally hated that part too, so I guess everyone is different) Babies are the best! Which is kind of ironic, because if you’d asked me before having kids, I think I was really worried about sleep deprivation taking a heavy toll on me. I do need my sleep, but I’d still rather be up all night that disciplining all day. But that is for my next post–starring Camryn–who I am on significantly worse terms with currently, stay tuned. But Drew?? Oh my heart, Drew sleeps well and he eats well, never cries, requires minimal attention, loves to cuddle (but will just lay on the ground forever when I’m too busy to hold him), and is just the. most. delightful. human. The highlight of my day is kissing the heck out of his squishy baby tummy during diaper changes and listening to him squeal with laughter. I love this kid. He sleeps all the time and doesn’t talk back to me and did I mention his squishy skin? It’s so squishy!

If I could, I’d maybe just live the first year over and over and skip toddlerdom altogether.

IMG_1613IMG_1577 IMG_1585 IMG_1595  IMG_1668

well well well. . .IMG_1671

6 month shotsIMG_1673 IMG_1675

oh hey studIMG_1699 IMG_1724 IMG_1728 IMG_1741 IMG_1744 IMG_1758 IMG_1759 IMG_1810 IMG_1812 IMG_1813

Camryn asked me why he puts everything in his mouth and I explained that he was growing teeth. I elaborated by saying, “Did you know that someday, all of your little teeth are going to fall out and you’re growing to grow new bigger teeth?” She thought about that and said, “Ya. And then my eyes are going to fall out too and I’m going to get new eyes that are bigger and bigger!!”

IMG_1852 IMG_1865 IMG_1897 IMG_1899 IMG_1923 IMG_2014 IMG_2030 IMG_2041 IMG_2047 IMG_1429

He started sticking out and curling his tongue all the time and it’s so freaking cute. IMG_2068 IMG_2071

Just look at his squishy baby rolls and pretend I look presentableIMG_2091 IMG_2101 IMG_2116 IMG_2121 IMG_2125 IMG_2133 IMG_2134 IMG_2162 IMG_2238 IMG_2252 IMG_2254

2 thoughts on “Mr. Drew

  1. Alison says:

    Um ya, he’s adorable. And I think I’m somewhere in between on the baby phase enjoyment. Although, I don’t have much to compare it too. But toodlerdom is proving quite difficult. I keep thinking by 3 it will be better since they will be able to communicate, but sounds like that might not be the case…?!

    • hahahaha oh Alison, I hate to be the bearer of bad news but three is. the. worst. I was actually thinking about you wrote this wondering how I’d do it with two at once!! Maybe it’s just me, but tantrums actually make me more crazy the older she gets because I feel like she does understand more, and can communicate, she just won’t. And then it seems mean spirited and intentional, whereas with a baby or younger toddler, they can cry and cry and cry and I have way more patience because they’re just a baby. And they’re louder and harder to control physically. But if it makes you feel any better, it generally comes in waves and stages and this is just a really bad spell. She’ll have months where she’s sweet as can be, and then really really bad weeks.

Leave a Reply

