A Trip to Texas

A couple weeks ago I mustered up enough crazy (courage? gumption?) to take my two kiddies all by my lonesome on a roadtrip to Dallas to visit my sister and her family. The first thing everyone said when I told them I was going was “Wow. You’re brave.” I think what they were probably actually thinking was stupid. Or desperate. And I think it was a combination of all of the above. Postpartum a recluse of me does make, but it was starting to wear off and I needed a change of venue in a bad way. It was an 8 hour drive, and though I was definitely a little bit scared about how it would go, I’ve hit this really awesome sweet spot with my kids. Drew is just old enough that he’s not nursing constantly or keeping me up all night, but he’s still young enough he sleeps a lot during the day and will sleep anywhere–the car, the stroller, my wrap–so I don’t have to plan things around his naps. And Camryn doesn’t nap anymore, is old enough to mostly listen to commands, and is happy as can be to watch movies and eat snacks in the car. In other words, I’ve emerged from hibernation and will be around for a short while before we hit that I-must-nap-at-exactly-the-right-time-and-only-in-my-crib-or-all-is-lost phase.

Camryn was sooooo excited to go. I talked to her a lot about it in the few days leading up to it, and when we woke her up at 4 a.m. on a Thursday morning to load her into the car, I don’t know if I’ve ever seen her so happy. Giant grins and gasping “we’re going to CHEX-IS now?? oh yay!!” And then before we’d even gotten as far south as the Kansas City Zoo she said “mom. . .Texas is too far away.” But ya, woke up at 4 a.m. because that’s when Drew wakes up to feed and then I just loaded the kids in the car and was already 3 1/2 hours and well into Oklahoma by the time they woke up. Two painless pitstops later we were there, no big deal, with Drew having slept most of the drive while Camryn watched Frozen. Ain’t. no. thang.

Alison and I managed to make it the entire 5 days without taking a single picture together. FAIL!! We were maybe preoccupied taking care of 4 children ages 3 & under. Her 2 boys are 18 months and 2 yrs old (both adopted) and it was a little bit of a madhouse but so fun.

We really didn’t do any site seeing or anything because–4 young children– but did go to a bunch of giant stores. The new Nebraska Furniture mart (IKEA on steroids), Central Market (there are so many foods in this world, why do I eat the same 10 over and over and over?) Half Price Books (scored 2 great hardbacks for $4. Why don’t we have a 1/2 price books??) The Galleria mall. We visited Zachs family, where I gaulked over his 2 week old niece and mourned over the size of my not-so-newborn-anymore. We stayed up late talking, played Pandemic, ate dinner outside. I missed Tanner like crazy, but he’d just started the dreaded Neuro unit and I wouldn’t have seen much of him anyway!

Here are the pho-tos.

IMG_1127

Zach is uncle of the year and Camryn adores him.IMG_1128 IMG_1129

Drew rolled over for the first time while we were there! (And was an absolute angel baby. Ohhh man I would repeat the newborn phase 10 times over if it meant I could avoid the toddler tantrum phase)IMG_0990_2 IMG_0991_2 IMG_0993_2

It’s really hard to get Drew to laugh, but Zach seemed to have the magic touch!

IMG_0996 IMG_0998

It’s about time I got to spend some decent time with Owen & Alex.  They’re a riot! IMG_0999

One night we braved a tex mex restaurant. This picture was taken right before Camryn spilled that giant red cup of ice water. . . . right onto Drew in his carseat on the floor.  And things mostly went to pieces from there. . .IMG_1006

Giving Owen his first taste of soda.  He loved it!  Camryn hated it 🙂IMG_1007

IMG_0980 IMG_0983 IMG_0986

The last day we were planning to go to the zoo, but with noon-2:00 naps necessary, decided it wasn’t worth the effort and went to some duck ponds and a park instead.

IMG_1017 IMG_1021

Love this one. Owen’s like NOOOOOOOO don’t take my picture!!!!! and Camryn’s like what the heck is his problem?IMG_1130

IMG_1023 IMG_1026 IMG_1028 IMG_1029

We had so much fun and it was so awesome to see family again and to give Camryn a chance to be with cousins. Besides visits from our parents, it’s been 9 months since we’ve seen any family! I’m pretty sure that will get easier the longer we are here, but the longest I’ve ever been away from Utah before that was 2 months. Thanks for having us Alison & Zach, it was a blast!

One thought on “A Trip to Texas

  1. Alison says:

    Awwww. Love it! You took way more pics than I did so I’m glad to have yours now too. Wanna come again next month 🙂 And yes, the video worked. So cute!

Leave a Reply

