The one where the Staples buy a house

We’re busy.  Busy freaking bees is what it boils down to.  Here’s all the happenings a tiny portion of the happenings you’ve been dying to hear about. . . (right??? tell me you missed me!)

Looong ago we decided that we were done waiting to hear back from Florida and that Kansas City was the place for us. Good thing too because we still didn’t even hear back from Florida until like 6 weeks after that–the day before we were flying out to Kansas City to house hunt.  And guess what–he didn’t get in.  Which i’m strangely pleased about, not because I was rooting for him to fail, but because I can be kind of a “what if?”fy kind of person and might have just dived right into a waaaaait, did we make the right decision? maybe we should still change our minds?  And when things are ever going terrible in Kansas City which they are bound to do at some point in the coming years I might launch into thoughts of “we should have gone to Florida”. . . and what good would that do me? so at least it is settled and there will be none of that.

We flew to Kansas City and we bought a house.  yup!  Come june 6th, we will be HOME. OWNERS.  The whole thing has been completely not stressful at all on my end and that is because apparently Tanner is obsessed with home/living situation research.  I got a tiny taste of that the last time we moved but this was like that on steroids since the stakes are much higher and I’m positive that there is not a single home for sale in all of Kansas City and the surrounding 100 miles within $25,000 of our budget that Tanner hasn’t looked at online.  The boy did his research.  Doesn’t that sound soooooo not fun??  Sometimes you discover personality traits in your spouse that you didn’t even know existed and sometimes they are the BEST.  I was perfectly happy to just go with whatever he wanted because all that research sounded exhausting.  It’s not a role I’m used to playing–but for this–please and thank you.

Our realtor took us around to Tanner’s list of houses we wanted to look at and the very first two were great.  Not perfect, but something that would totally work for us, so that made the rest of the hunting really stress-free because we already knew we had good options that we could be happy with.  I’m pretty sure our realtor was really amused by us.  Like when my eyes would bug out and say “look at all this counter space!” and she’d be trying really hard to tell if I was being sarcastic or sincere (sincere.  always.  I have lived for so long with such limited counter space that I am easily impressed)  same with closet space.  And all yards.  And how every time we found where the washer/dryer hookups were I would plaster my face with a grin and all but do a jig, and surely get a far-off dreamy look in my eyes like all i’ve ever wanted in life was to do laundry in my own garage.  So basically. . .  we were just really easy to please.  Not because we didn’t care or take this seriously, but because #1 we don’t intend to live at this house longer than 4 years (maaaaaybe 7 max) so it’s okay if it’s not perfect.  We weren’t exactly hunting for our dream home.  and #2  Provo.  we’ve collectedly lived in about 15 different provo apartments and most of them are old and crappy and small and so I guess you could say we have a pretty low standard and don’t stick our noses up at much.

All of that said we are really happy with the house we are buying.  The bones of it are:  it’s cute outside.  The front yard has a huge tree that completely blankets the front lawn with acorns which doesn’t bother us at all since we have a BACKYARD (!)  You walk in the front door into the best part of the house–a large open family room/kitchen with a 20 ft vaulted ceiling.  It’s beautiful and the kitchen is the best thing of my entire life.  The sellers are flipping this house, so they just did a lot of remodeling and the kitchen is all brand new–new dishwasher, new oven/stove, new fridge (the fancy open from the middle kind) new butchers-wood countertops, counter space galore, and the pantry storage space blows my mind.  More than I could ever hope to ever have enough dishes and food to fill.  I’m probably just going to open my cupboards all the time just to stare at the spaciousness of it all.    And speaking of space. . . there isn’t much in the bedrooms.  They are pretty tiny.  There are only 2 of them.  Which would really be a problem and we really would need 3, except that there is a loft space above the garage.  It’s only half finished and isn’t the fanciest thing in the world, but it’s cute and will totally work for my office/bookmaking studio which is what we wanted the 3rd bedroom for anyway.  Did I mention it was way cheaper than the one we were planning to get before we found this one?  So that made it too appealing to pass up and we decided that even though it’s small, we could make this house work for us.   Out the kitchen, through the garage, and past the washer/dryer (:))))))  is the backyard.  It’s got a really pretty tree with purple blossoms (red bud?  is that what she called it?)  and a small patio.  It’s totally fenced (a must with children)  and it’s big enough without being huge.  We have all sorts of dreams for it–patio furniture, fire pit, garden, compost, hammock, sand box?  chickens? (I’m having a lot of yard envy towards those neighbors who just got chickens. . . .)

I managed to take 2 entire photos, so here they are– our next home 🙂

CAM00855  CAM00854

3 thoughts on “The one where the Staples buy a house

  1. Lyndi says:

    I have def missed your posts, call me a stalker but I check in here all the time. I’m so excited for you!!! Cute outside and the kitchen looks so great! Oh so happy. Hope the living room floor is big enough for a Lyndi visitor!

  2. This is the post I’ve been waiting for! Congrats!! We’re stuck in a studio apartment for a while longer…so pardon me while I drool over your beautiful kitchen.

  3. Caitlin says:

    I LOVE IT! I am so excited for you. It is absolutely charming and I am excited for all those memories you are bound to make there. I will also be living vicariously through you especially if you get chickens!!

Leave a Reply

