the mountains are calling, and I must go (or, this is how we do a ski day)

(I started this last week, laying in bed after our ski day.  just finished it.)

oh hey, it’s been a while.  That’s because I’ve been making lots of notebooks and doing lots of yoga and sometimes there isn’t room for all of the things so some of them get squished tight over to the edges and the more unfortunate things just plain spill right over the edges and drop into the abyss, landing in the land of things that never got done.  It’s a lonely place and my blog doesn’t want to be there but, you know.

But I’m too tired to do anything else, so I’m going to tell you all about our lovely ski day, start to finish.  I’ll start with the night before–that time when skiing never ever ever sounds fun at all.  Is it just me?  I’m thinking about waking up early when it’s still dark and so cold, finding all the gear, loading all the gear into the car, packing a lunch for us plus a days worth of food for the babysitter to feed Camryn.  It all just sounds like such a whole lot of effort to put into something that doesn’t even sound fun right now.  What sounds fun the night before is–sleeping in, being lazy, and staying warm.  Period.  But even though everything in my body is telling me that it’s a dumb idea, my brain is telling me that I love to ski more than anything and when I have the chance, I need to take it.  My brain is telling me that even though all the prep is a pain, it is never not worth it.  The moment I get on the slopes I will be the most genuine kind of happy.  I will spend hours on the mountain feeling elated, alive, and grateful.  Grateful for my body and the amazing things it can do, grateful for my good health, for the beauty of the mountains, for a husband who loves it just as much as I do and for a dad that taught me how.

CAM00579

So, on this night, it was raining hard.  Which meant rain in the valley, snow in the mountains, and a day full of fabulous fresh powder.  Curled up in bed, listening to the rain, my body was telling me I didn’t want to go skiing the next day, but my mind was saying you do!  So we went and it was everything it always is.  Plus more because it was free demo day which meant we got to go trade in our skis for a pair of brand new ones to test out for free.

CAM00706

(mine are the blue ones on the left.  I’ve been using them since I was 14 and my mind was running all day scheming on how and when I could replace them.  What I came up with is 11 years.  Which is the answer to pretty much every question these days that begins with “when do you think we could afford. . .”)

And also, ALSO! I got to meet two 3-time olympian female skiers!! First time in all my life that I’ve been star-struck. They were hanging out near the demo booths (probably getting paid big bucks by solitude to do so) and I shook their hands and talked to them and holy cow.  I’m not much impressed by celebrities, but these ladies were my kind of celebrities.  Shannon Bahrke has a silver medal and a bronze medal in women’s moguls making her one of the best mogulists in the WORLD.  Have you seen the olympic mogul events?!?!?  they are insane.  I watched that event this year in total disbelief at how difficult what they’re doing is.  I skied moguls the very next day, the whole time thinking how?? how?? There was also Emily Cook who just got back from Sochi where she took 8th in freestyle aerial skiing.  freestyle.  aerial.  skiing.  That’s how you impress a Dana.

I couldn’t exactly tell you why, but the snow that day was really difficult to ski.  New snow, but really tracked up and choppy, and nothing was groomed at all since it had snowed overnight, so everywhere you went it was just hard and exhausting (still so fun!) but by the time we got home we were completely dead and there were still 3 1/2hours to go until camryn’s bedtime.  (thanks Kelsey and Ryan for babysitting!!) From what I remember, we basically laid in bed that whole time while she jumped on us and sat on our faces and generally bounced around with all of the energy of the energizer bunny that she is.  And then we slept for 11 hours and felt like we could have slept for 11 more.

the end.

Leave a Reply

