Notebook Love: the blogging dilema

In case you are blind, dumb, or you just got here:  I love notebooks.

But about a year ago, I discovered that I also love blogging.

And sometimes I don’t know how to reconcile the two and this post my just be a rant of unanswered questions of mine, but stick with me.

Deep down in my gut, I believe there is some truly intrinsically good about the act of putting ink or lead to paper.  I think it’s good for the soul.  I think it’s a beautiful art, and I love the nostalgia of handwritten items.  Handwriting is personal.  While something typed or posted online can be seen by many at once, a handwritten item is one of it’s kind.  It’s from you to someone else.  Or from you to yourself, to read again later.  Typing is less of a physical act, and somehow, I feel like my handwritten notebooks are an extension of me, like they contain part of me–a personal creation directly connected to my own flesh and blood fingertips.  Part of my mind and spirit poured onto the pages.   They show more personality and allow more creativity, since I can sketch and doodle, add color and switch handwritings (I have several.)

And then there is blogging.  And blogging is great for the one grand reason: that people are actually reading what I write.  Granted, not that many people, but it’s still nice to send my words out into the universe to amuse, confuse, inspire, convince, enlighten, inform or whatever they do when another human being comes in contact with them, and sometimes responds to them, creating interaction and conversation, instead of closing my words away in the depths of a bag and then the shelf in a closet, to be read by only me and to affect only me.  Another benefit, (depending on who you ask)  is that I can say more in less time since typing is faster with hand cramping less likely.  I found out my sister types her journal for this reason.

I know I could do both, but my journal has been abandoned in the stead of my blog and as much as I love blogging, it makes me so so sad.  I still keep different specific handwritten records, but not my main life story I keep.  What to do??  I’m going to have my blog printed out into a little book (anyone know a good site for that?) and I think having it in my hands as a physical object will help, but still. 

I officially don’t have an answer.  What are your thoughts on this subject?  How have you dealt with this technological dilema?  What are your thoughts on abandoning the handwritten word?

(p.s. I can’t wait to read this book.)

11 thoughts on “Notebook Love: the blogging dilema

  1. I face the same dilemma. I don’t really have any suggestions for you on this matter, but I do have a rather nerdy thing to add to it.

    Every time I read the seventh Harry Potter book, tear up at a particular scene in which Harry finds a letter that his deceased mother had written to Sirius Black. Reading this passage has given so much more meaning to the handwritten letters that I have.

    “Harry’s extremities seemed to have gone numb. He stood quite still, holding the miraculous paper in his nerveless fingers while inside him a kind of quiet eruptions sent joy and grief thundering its equal measure through his veins. Lurching to the bed, he sat down.

    He read the letter again, but could not take in any more meaning than he had done the first time, and was reduced to staring at the handwriting itself. She had made her “g”s the same way he did. He searched through the letter for every one of them, and each felt like a friendly little wave glimpsed from behind a veil. The letter was an incredible treasure, proof that Lily Potter had lived, really lived, that her warm hand had once moved across this parchment, tracing ink into these letters, these words, words about him, Harry, her son.

    Impatiently brushing away the wetness in his eyes, he reread the letter, this time concentrating on the meaning. It was like listening to a half-remembered voice.”

  2. I am a journal keeper, but it has changed from a chronicle of my days to a place to keep drafts, play with words, jot ideas, etc. The blog for me is the testing ground. The final draft would be the published book, if that ever comes to be. While I love the journal you made and wrote about it here: http://reflectionsontheteche.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/my-journals/, I still haven’t written in it. Will it be a place for final drafts, poems about nature, playing with words, or just a pretty book to look at? In my life, I am enjoying the variety of formats.

    • maybe i just need to change my idea of my journal from “a chronicle of my days” to something different. thanks again for writing about my notebook 🙂 I’m glad you like it.

  3. I think there is definitely a place for both journals and blogging–if only I had the time to do both regularly. For me, the key difference is audience. My journal is for my eyes only. If I want to share something from it, I copy it to give to that person (or type on a blog for wider sharing). A handwritten note is much more personal and intended for one (or a few) specific person. My blog, though, is where I am ready to share with the world (or at least one small corner of it). I’m much more thoughtful about what I put on my blog because it represents me to the world (and my school, since I use it for class as well.)

    • that’s something I’ve noticed so much–how differently I write for different audiences. This can be good or bad, and is part of the reason I miss my personal, private journaling, because I don’t have to be as thoughtful and purposeful about what I write since it represents me only to myself and I don’t have to worry about how the world would view it on my blog

  4. Julie says:

    I have the same problem – my journals (lot of them) remain in a bedside table drawer – kinda abandoned. I have opted for blogging right now only because I like the feedback and support of other writers which is what I seem to need right now. However, should I need to write something personal or not to be shared just yet – I revert to pen and paper.

    • that’s what my personal journal has kind of become too–a place where I write only what is too personal or private to put on my blog. the feedback and support is so nice sometimes!

  5. Great dilemma..,how many places can one write? I do both, and often print out a slice and then rework it in my journal where the audience is just me, and I feel a bit more freedom to experiment. Sometimes, a notebook jotting becomes an online bit of writing – so one kids of feeds into and improves the other.

  6. I promised to comment on this post, but it seems like most of what I could say has already been covered! But I guess I will say my peace anyway, and if is overlaps I am sorry.

    I blog when I have something to say that I want to say to others, that I want feedback on (even if none is forthcoming, since my readership is tiny :)), or that I feel is entertaining or worth sharing with others. I often feel so much better with what I can organize on a page, over what I can construct with my voice, and so I use my blog to capture what I wish I could say aloud; but either do not know how to say aloud (or have done poorly saying it aloud), or whom to say it to.

    My journal is the place I think about and organize who I am, and how that relates to God and the people in my life. Sometimes it focuses on the day to day, sometimes it’s things about those I love that I do not want to forget, sometimes it’s experiences that feel too tender or too fresh to be public, and sometimes it’s just a place to take my insecurities so that I can trace them back to the event that triggered them and thus deduce the needed balm to put them back to rest.

  7. I actually have a private blog that only I can read, my personal blog, and a hand written journal. I just have found that I have so much more time while I am by a computer, and typing is so much faster than writing, so the secret-blog-as-my-journal has been a good option for me. However, I still am trying to reconcile the two worlds as well. I just can’t get enough of the feeling of a notebook friend.

Leave a Reply

