Aside

the mountains are calling

Well, I’ve fallen off the daily slice of life bandwagon and was feeling so uninspired that I thought I’d skip today too, but then I was searching nature quotes for bookbinding inspiration and got a little swept up and buried in some really beautiful words.

really, really beautiful words that make me want to drive and drive out into the absolute middle of the desert and just lay right on the ground and sleep there

words that make me want to go touch the mountains and feel some good solid rock in my hands and breath the air around it and hear nothing

I want to go sit still on the beach right where the water meets land and sink a little more each time a wave rolls in

I want to hike endlessly through forests, rivers, and wildflowers until I get to a place that’s higher than all the other places

and when I get there I want to eat something that I grew in my backyard and roasted over a fire and then stargaze until i have clarity

I want my skin to feel dirty, dusty, and sunkissed

I want to run through a violently intense thunderstorm and get so so wet that the rain seeps right down into my core

I want to swim in the sea

and just in case you didn’t know yet that I am a nature-loving, free-spirited flower child deep down in my soul, I guess I just outed myself.

here are some lovely quotes for you if you hadn’t had enough yet:

Everything is blooming most recklessly; if it were voices instead of colors, there would be an unbelievable shrieking into the heart of the night. -Rainer Maria Rilke

May your trails be crooked, winding, lonesome, dangerous, leading to the most amazing view.  May your mountains rise into and above the clouds.  –Edward Abbey

The mountains are calling and I must go.  –John Muir

The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful.  –e.e. Cummings

And this one cracks me up even though heaven knows I’m a huge fan of houseplants:  For myself I hold no preferences among flowers, so long as they are wild, free, spontaneous.  Bricks to all green houses!  Black thumb and cutworm to the potted plant!  –Edward Abbey

People from a planet without flowers would think we must be mad with joy the whole time to have such things about us. –Iris Murdoch

8 thoughts on “the mountains are calling

  1. Mmm. I felt the same way on Friday when I was driving down through the middle of Maine 5 hours, seeing trees, an eagle and the Katahdin mountains all snow covered white against a gorgeous blue sky. I just had to smile for 5 hours.

  2. Im so happy for you that you found inspiration without even looking for it 🙂 Your writing today makes me want to go to those places and do the same things. Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

