Aside

not so quick and easy

You know how cook books, cooking blogs, and magazine recipes are always heralding:  “it’s so easy and fast!”  Why is that such a bragging point?  Why do we value that so much?  Because we’re busy, obviously, I guess, but who are they kidding and why do they feel like they have to apologize or be ashamed of a time consuming recipe?  Most true crowd pleasing dishes are the long, laborious and arduous ones.  Especially if they’re healthy and fresh–there aren’t any shortcuts for that.  I was thinking about this while I chopped up a huge bowl of fresh colorful veggies for these fabulous Stacked Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas.  My friend Steph recommended them, saying “they kind of take forever, but they are so worth it.”  And that didn’t turn me off one bit, because in my experience those are the best kind of recipes.  They did take forever and involved corn tortillas from scratch, but holy cow, they were oh so yummy.  They should use that as a section heading:  “The Long, Laborious, and Arduous ones that are Worth It.”

I thought of it again last night as I chopped up another bowl of veggies to make chicken pot pie from dinner:a love story (which is delicious and just so happens to also be on the blog here so you should definitely make it) and I decided that starting with a big bowl of chopped veggies is a good sign that things will turn out well at the end.

*note: both of these recipes involve sweet potatoes which I haven’t ever cooked with before and I’m kicking myself for it.  They are awesome!  I’ve also tried them tossed in olive oil & spices and roasting them and that’s delicious too*

slice of life

4 thoughts on “not so quick and easy

  1. Yum! I just posted about our love of cooking at our house. I do appreciate the fast recipes, but my husband prefers the labors of love – they do taste so much better!

  2. Alison says:

    Sweet potatoes. How on EARTH did we miss out on those as children? I don’t think I had my first one until I was like…25? Sad. Sad.

  3. margaretsmn says:

    I wish I had the appreciation you have for the process. You even have a small child in the house. How do you do it? I know these recipes can be worth it, but I tend to go for the quick, easy, and delicious. Last night I made a catfish courtboullion for my mother-in-law and she was so happy to eat real comfort food. I took shortcuts, though. Sh! Don’t tell.

Leave a Reply

