Slice of life

I’m joining in the Slice of Life Challenge which you can read about here, referred to me by my cool friend Mary, which is basically a daily challenge to write a slice of life each day on your blog.  I am so in.  You should go take a look and join in if you’re interested.  I love when I get into the habit of writing often.  The more often the better, because the more real my writing gets and the easier it comes out.  (and if you get tired of reading my blog, that’s your problem :))

So here goes, todays slice of life:

I was outside in front of my six-plex on the grass with my baby (on the grass! yay for 46 degrees!) and a carpet cleaning van pulls up to the curb and the guy proceeds to clean apartment #1 and verifies to me that it is, indeed, vacant.  #1 used to be occupied by a couple I’ll call Amy and Josh who were doing heroine and dealing drugs.  The cops showed up at the complex at least 6 times in the few months they’ve been here, and many a mysterious car has been pulling up front and leaving after a few minutes.  For the last couple of weeks though, I haven’t seen them and their windows have all been covered up with cardboard boxes.  I swear I live in a safe part of town and I’m preeeetty happy to see these neighbors go.  Are they in jail?  Were they evicted?  I’m not sure, but is it weird how excited I get to meet new neighbors?

It got me thinking about this idea that old apartments and houses that are rented out in Provo have seen so many tenants come and go.  Being a college town, turnover is high and it’s not uncommon for renters to be in and out again in less than a year.  Last year, when we lived in the cute little blue house with the yellow door, I often wondered “who has lived here before us?”  How many students? How many newlyweds?  How many newborn babies have spent their first weeks of life in these rooms?  I had this idea that it would make such an interesting book to track down every single previous occupant of the house, interview them about their time spent there, and compile their stories. Include pictures even!  All the way back to the guy who built the place for his family 100 years ago.  It would be so cool to hear how the house changed, how the furnishings changed, what different varieties of people lived there, how holes happened, the layers of paint, when they divided it from one house into two apartments.

Here’s to hoping the next occupants of #1 are awesome and also that they bring the cops around a lot less often than the old tenants.

2 thoughts on “Slice of life

  1. I live a block away from the police station in our village. It is a quiet suburban area. Yet, somehow my husband I managed to build a house across the street from our neighborhood teenage drug dealer. Makes me wonder how common this phenomenon is. I love that you get excited over new neighbors…I have hopes of a future welcome wagon-esque post this month!

Leave a Reply

